What Road? - Session A9

Session A9 is a dream come true for Charlie McKerron. It is a project that has grown out of live tune sessions held the length and breadth of Scotland - hence the name. As Charlie explained they "are basically a bunch of friends who just enjoy music and like to share the good feeling around a bit!".

Session A9 is a collaboration between some of Scotland's finest and most innovative fiddle players, enhanced by a top flight line-up of musicians.

Charlie McKerron of Capercaillie, Duncan Chisholm of Wolfstone, Gordon Gunn of the Gordon Gunn Band and Adam Sutherland of Croft Number Five came together for this project in a desire to bring fresh, creative and original music to a worldwide audience. They form the nucleus of the band.

Guests on the album include Kris Drever (vocals) Brian McAlpine (keyboards and accordion) Tim Edey (guitar and melodeon) plus long term Capercaillie members Ewen Vernal (double bass), David "Chimp" Robertson (percussion) and Michael McGoldrick (bodhran).

The idea was to capture the excitement of a "live" performance, and the recording was made in several locations. The end result is a great piece of work and an essential part of any fiddle music lover's collection. As well as the tunes, the album features songs from Kris Drever.

The music on "What Road?" brings together traditional and new tunes with a contemporary feel and a wide range of fiddle influences from all over the world.


1. The Rizla
2. Leire's Welcome to Cozac/Fiona Macaskill of Breakish
3. Shady Grove
4. Gillian's Waltz
5. The Aird Rant/Inshriach
6. Swallow's/Katy Hill/Garry Banjo
7. Sandy Ower Da Lea/Donegal Highalnd/Strathspey
8. Billy's New Box/Moll Roe/Farewell to Whalley Range
9. Alasdair' Tune
10. Soliloquy Waltz/Billy Shaw the Satellite King
11. Kaleb Watt of the Broch/Irish Reel/Greek Street
12. Skipping Barfitt Through The Heather/Fiery Jock
13. Celtic Thunder/Pressed for Time?

Session A9

Session A9 Session A9Session A9 Session A9Session A9 Session A9Session A9 Session A9