The Dreaming Sea

Produced by Donald Shaw Release Date: 1996

In 1996 Karen began work on her debut solo album, letting her voice shine over a broad range of songs with collaborations with some of Scotland's finest musicians.  singer-songwriter James Grant contributes four songs including the radio hit 'There's Always Sunday, and other highlights include a stunning version of Sandy Denny's 'One More Chance' and a breathtaking Gaelic song 'Mi ie M''Uilinn' performed live in the studio with an exquisite sax solo from Tommy Smith.

The Artists

Karen Matheson (Vocals)
Donald Shaw (piano, synths and accordion)
James Grant (All guitars, dobro, bass and backing vocals)
James McIntosh (drums)
Jim Sutherland (percussion)
Ewan Vernal (basses)
Tommy Smith (soprano and tenor sax)
Sorley McLean (poetry reading)
Fraser Spiers (harmonica)
Eoghan O'Neill (bass tracks 6 & 8)
Ray Fean (drums tracks 6 & 8)
Noel Bridgeman (tracks 6 & 8)
Gerry O'Conner (banjo)
Paul McGeechan (keyboards & programming ontrack 6)
Manus Lunny (backing vocals on track 9)
Marc Duff (whistle on track 9)
The BT Ensemble

Track List

There's always Sunday
Rithill Aill
The Dreaming Sea
Mi Le M' uilinn
Early Morning Grey
'Ic Iain "Ic Sheumais
One More Chance
Fac Thu Na Feidh
An Fhideag Airgid
At The End Of The Night
Move On

All strings arranged by kevin McRea.

Click here to go to Mail Order details